Combatting Bots - Player Perspective

I’ll start this off by saying, I have roughly 15 years worth of MMORPG/gaming experience. Everything I state in this, if from my own perspective on how I think taking actions against bots/cheating players will help the community as a whole, for the near future/future of the game.

Please understand this isn’t a bias explanation of things, come with an open mind before you comment something that doesn’t help the issue at hand.

So, I do believe Amazon Games and Smilegate are trying different tactics against the Botting issues, most of which rely on EAC (Easy Anti Cheat) And their own security measures. However I do believe they should let the community help with this as well, for the long run at least.

Community Mods/In-game Player moderators

• Giving those who stand out in the community the power to speed up the process/in-game reports that matter/take priority over false reports.

• Reward those who are given this possible position with in-game rewards, that are not overpowering to the community (Crystalline Aura/Player Mod title…etc.)

• Giving the community a way to help fight back, instead of relying on mass reports to solve the issue. No reason in having an admin login to a server, without proof of the player in question to not actually be a bot.

Making it not profitable for business

As someone with a MBA, I understand their way of thinking when it comes down to botting

1. Most botters are in the game of business, because you still have ways that they can avoid the bans you place on them. Yes, I do agree with banning VPN’s to a certain point, however some players may prefer the use of VPNs for personal reasons (I don’t know personally, I never cared to use a VPN, but I know it might be a marketing bonus to retain that ability)