Communication and the Audience

Hello, folks. Enjoying the forums in the past hour? Perhaps the Lost Ark discord? Yeah, a lot of fun times going on right now.

But let me stop being facetious and get to the topic of my post.

It would help if you did better AGS. Now, I’m no developer or even consider myself the most technologically adept person out there, but I know how to please or enrage an audience. Enraging, you’ve gotten down pretty well, and it all comes down to your inability to communicate appropriately. As they say, communication makes the world go round, and you, dear AGS, have come to a standstill in that department.

Do you communicate? Yes. Do you speak promptly? No. I’ve only been part of this community for a short time. Still, whenever you lack communication, the excuse seems to be “until we know for sure” or “until we can guarantee” or anything along those lines, and this is where you’re doing the whole communication thing wrong.

Communication isn’t about giving information when all facts are in place. Communication is about, well, communicating. It is about open dialogue between two parties; it is about acknowledging and letting your audience know what is going on.

Let’s take the April/May roadmap, for example. You waited until the first days of April to give a roadmap for the month. Now, there’s nothing inherently wrong with this, but it is not something that will fill your audience with much confidence. It creates a feeling of anxiety, a feeling that the people in charge are not as prepared and as competent as they’d like. There was communication as to why the roadmap was delayed, but the reasons given didn’t help this feeling. The powers-that-be wanted to provide the most accurate information, that they could fulfill all promises? That’s nice and all, but you left your audience anxious on your way to creating the most precise information given.