Feedback/Discussion regarding third party Software in general

Im a dev from Germany and i want to open a discussion about the general view about third party software.

My target here is that i want to open a discussion about the general acceptance state of third party software,
it seams that ASG/SG have a overly strict stance against third party tools and i want to know why?

Most of us want to develop tools to enhance and improve the player experience and provide useful resources, its the same for the DPS meter, the intent is good, but i can somewhat see the negatives being enough to consider a prhobition even though i think its unreasonable.

But then would there be a possibility to add the same API the korean server has(used by loawa and so on), it would allow development of genuine helpful tools for character development and game insights.

A option would be a approach similar how Riot Games does it where you can access the api very rate limited for testing and then to publish tools you need to go through a verification process,
im aware that requires resources but maybe ASG could use existing AWS infrastructure easing the cost/time investment?

There are always negatives about doing such things, but in my honest opinion i do firmly believe that the positives that can come out of such a api, or just tolerating third party tools outweigh the negatives by a lot.

Cheers Liz3

P.S. the valtan update was sick, good work on that ASG/SG

3 Likes

It isn’t unreasonable or hard to see why 3rd party software, which works with the game files, is frowned upon in most development industries, not only gaming.

Security is the simplest reason. Even if you are simply outputting logs, tampering with these info in real time can also be used to bypass the software securityt if any flaw was overlooked (let’s say a backdoor, tiny chance) through the development and you would not need to deal with this if you simply forbid the usage.